top of page

College Art Association/

Heritage Preservation  Award

The CAA/Heritage Preservation Award for Distinction in Scholarship and Conservation recognized outstanding contributions by one or more persons who, individually or jointly, enhanced understanding of art through the application of knowledge and experience in conservation, art history, and art. 

1991: Gridley McKim-Smith, Greta Andersen-Bergdoll, Richard Newman, and Andrew Davidhazy


1992: Robert L. Feller, Research Center on Materials of the Artist and Conservator, Mellon Institute


1993: Arthur Wheelock, National Gallery of Art


1994: Maryan Ainsworth, Metropolitan Museum of Art


1995: Molly Ann Fairies, Indiana University


1996: Marjorie B. Cohn, Fogg Art Museum, Harvard University


1997: Henry W. Lie, Straus Center for Conservation, Harvard University


1998: W. Thomas Chase, Arthur M. Sackler Gallery and Freer Gallery of Art, Smithsonian Institution


2000: Christa C. Mayer Thurman, Art Institute of Chicago


2001: Andrea Kirsh, independent scholar and curator, and Rustin S. Levenson, independent paintings conservator


2002: Harry Cooper and Ron Spronk, Harvard University Art Museums


2003: Ernst van de Wetering, University of Amsterdam


2004: Carol Mancusi-Ungaro, Center for the Technical Study of Modern Art, Harvard University Museums, and Whitney Museum of American Art


2005: Paolo Cherchi Usai, National Screen and Sound Archive in Australia


2006: Don Kalec, Historic Preservation Program at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, and John Thorpe, John Thorpe and Associates


2007: Lawrence Becker, Metropolitan Museum of Art, and Christine Kondoleon, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston


2008: Elizabeth S. Bolman, Tyler School of Art, Temple University


2009: Carol Stringari, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, and Chris McGlinchey, Museum of Modern Art


2010: David Bomford, J. Paul Getty Museum


2011: Joyce Hill Stoner, Art Conservation Department, University of Delaware


2012: Francesca G. Bewer, Straus Center for Conservation and Technical Studies, Harvard Art Museums


2013: Lance Meyer and Gay Myers, Lyman Allyn Art Museum


2014: Glenn Wharton, Museum of Modern Art and Museum Studies Program, New York University

2015: E. Melanie Gifford, National Gallery of Art

With the dissolution of Heritage Preservation, the award became the College Art Association (CAA) / American Institute for Conservation (AIC) Award for Distinction in Scholarship and Conservation.

2016: Debra Hess Norris, Department of Art Conservation, University of Delaware


2017: Tom J. S. Learner, Head of Science at the Getty Conservation Institute (GCI)


2018: Paul Messier, Lens Media Lab (LML) at Yale University's Institute for the Preservation of Cultural Heritage


2019: Karl D. Buchberg, Senior Conservator, Museum of Modern Art, and Jodi Hauptman, Senior Curator, Department of Drawings and Prints, Museum of Modern Art

2020: Jeanne Marie Teutonico, Getty Conservation Institute

2021: Nancy Odegaard, Arizona State Museum at the University of Arizona (Tucson)

2022: Zahria (Soni) Véliz, Museum of Fine Arts, Houston

bottom of page