top of page

AIC/Heritage Preservation 

Ross Merrill Award

for Outstanding Commitment to the

Preservation and Care of Collections

The award was presented annually to an organization in North America that has been exemplary in the importance and priority it has given to conservation concerns and in the commitment it has shown to the preservation and care of its cultural property.

With the dissolution of Heritage Preservation, the award became the Ross Merrill Award for Outstanding Commitment to the Preservation and Care of Collections and was administered solely by the American Institute for Conservation.

2016: Harvard University

2017: Vizcaya Museum and Gardens


2019: The Lenhardt Library of the Chicago Botanic Garden

1999: Colonial Williamsburg Foundation


2000: Fairmount Park Art Association; the Alden B. Dow Home and Studio; Museum of Fine Arts, Boston; the Bata Shoe Museum


2001: The Central Park Conservancy, Judson Memorial Church, the Society for the Preservation of Natural History Collections, the Sculpture Center


2002: City of Buffalo Arts Commission, New York Academy of Medicine, Vermont Museum and Gallery Alliance


2003: LuEsther T. Mertz Library of the New York Botanical Garden; Winterthur, An American Country Estate; Canadian Museum of Nature


2004: Sam Noble Oklahoma Museum of Natural History, The Henry Ford, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)


2006: Historical Society of Frederick County, Maryland


2007: Cleveland Public Library


2008: Arizona State Museum, Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners


2009: Historic Cherry Hill, Shelburne Museum


2010: The Architect of the Capitol, Friends of the Iolani Palace


2011: Maymont Foundation


2012: Alaska State Museum, Harness Racing Museum & Hall of Fame


2013: The Henry Morrison Flagler Museum & Indianapolis Museum of Art


2014: Tudor Place Historic House & Garden

bottom of page